Skip to main content

Attention: This overview is issued by the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal for general reference only and should not be regarded as a complete or authoritative statement of law or practice of the Appeal Tribunal. It is not intended to provide any legal or other professional advice. The Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal shall not be held responsible for any error or omission in the contents of this overview. If you require advice on the law or practice of the Appeal Tribunal, you should consult your lawyers or any other persons who are qualified to give the advice you required.

An electronic database of the Buildings Ordinance and its regulations is available on the Internet at http://www.elegislation.gov.hk/. A copy of the Buildings Ordinance and its regulations is also available for public reference in Hong Kong public libraries. For details, please consult the Hong Kong public libraries.

Pamphlet of the Appeal Tribunal, Buildings Ordinance

Overview

This overview is issued by the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal for general reference of readers who are interested in the operation of the Appeal Tribunal, including those who intend to lodge appeal pursuant to Part VI of the Buildings Ordinance, Chapter 123 of the Laws of Hong Kong (“the Ordinance”).

The Appeal Tribunal (Buildings) (“the Appeal Tribunal”) is a tribunal constituted under section 48 of the Ordinance for the purpose of hearing and determining an appeal. The Appeal Tribunal shall consist of a Chairman and not less than 2 members. It is an independent establishment, is not subject to the control of the Building Authority, and does not generally supervise the Building Authority in the performance of his duties and other functions under the Ordinance.

An appeal to the Appeal Tribunal IS

Reference Information on General Procedures of Appeal

A Simple Flowchart for General Appeal Procedures as illustrated by the
Building Authority’s decision to issue an Order/Notice under the Ordinance

Building Authority issues an Order / Notice

A person aggrieved by the Order / Notice decides to appeal and serves a notice of appeal on the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal and the Building Authority within 21 days of the date the Order / Notice is issued

Appellant furnishes a Statement of Particulars to the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal and the Building Authority within 28 days of the date notice of appeal is given

Building Authority furnishes its representations and documents to the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal and the Appellant within 28 days of receiving the Appellant's Statement of Particulars

Preliminary / Full Hearings and determination of the appeal and costs (if any) by the Appeal Tribunal

Notice of Appeal

Download Notice of Appeal Form

Section 44 of the Ordinance stipulates that a person aggrieved by any decision made by the Building Authority in the exercise of a discretion conferred on him under the Ordinance may, except where the Ordinance provides otherwise, appeal from that decision in accordance with Part VI of the Ordinance and regulations made under section 38(1B) of the Ordinance.

Section 47 of the Ordinance stipulates that a person exercising the right of appeal conferred by section 44 shall give notice of appeal in the prescribed manner, appealing from the relevant decision, to the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal, to be received by him not later than 21 days after the date notification of the decision is sent to him.

Section 3 of the Regulation stipulates that a notice of appeal for the purposes of section 47 of the Ordinance shall be in writing and served on the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal. The aforesaid section 3 further stipulates that the Appellant shall serve a copy of the notice of appeal on the Building Authority within the period specified in section 47 of the Ordinance for giving notice of appeal.

A notice of appeal may be served on the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal by sending it to him in the following prescribed manner:-

  1. (i)registered or ordinary mail addressed to him at his office; or
  2. (ii)facsimile transmission; or
  3. (iii)serving it personally on him.

In general, a notice of appeal shall contain information on the following:-

  1. the Building Authority’s decision/order/notice against which the appeal is made, such as the order/notice number, date of the decision/order/notice, Buildings Department’s reference, etc.;
  2. particulars of the property/land to which the Building Authority’s decision/order/notice relates;
  3. the Appellant's personal particulars, such as name, Identity Card (ID) number, correspondence address, telephone number (including residential / office / mobile), fax number (if applicable), etc.; and
  4. the Appellant’s signature, company seal (if applicable), etc.

It may also be preferable to mark on the top of the notice of appeal with the words ‘Notice of Appeal’, which may facilitate the easy identification by the parties to the appeal. In general, the notice of appeal (and all appeal documents) should be personally signed by the Appellant or by the Appellant’s authorized representative.

Statement of Particulars

Section 4(1) of the Regulation stipulates that the Appellant shall, within 28 days beginning on the date notice of appeal is given or, where appropriate, within the extended period, furnish to the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal a statement containing:-

  1. the particulars of the decision to which the appeal relates;
  2. the grounds of appeal if they have not been specified in the notice of appeal;
  3. a detailed description of the matter to which the appeal relates;
  4. a description of each document the Appellant intends to produce at the hearing;
  5. where relevant, the address and description of any property or land to which the appeal relates and a statement of the interest of the Appellant in that property or land; and
  6. the particulars of the witnesses the Appellant intends to call on his behalf at the hearing.

Section 4(2) of the Regulation further stipulates that the Appellant shall serve a copy of the statement on the Building Authority within the aforesaid period or extended period, as may be appropriate. In submitting the aforementioned notice of appeal, the Appellant may also furnish the statement to the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal together with the notice of appeal. It may also be preferable to mark on the top of the statement with the words ‘Statement of Particulars’, which may facilitate the easy identification by the parties to the appeal.

Representations and Documents

Section 5(a) of the Regulation stipulates that the Building Authority shall within 28 days beginning on the date of receiving a copy of the Appellant’s statement of particulars or, where appropriate, within the extended period, furnish to the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal representations in writing and documents (if any) in the possession or custody of the Building Authority, which the Building Authority considers would assist the Appeal Tribunal to determine or otherwise dispose of the appeal. Section 5(b) of the Regulation further stipulates that within the aforesaid period or extended period, as may be appropriate, the Building Authority shall serve a copy of the representations and a copy each of any document furnished aforesaid on the Appellant.

Request for Further Particulars

Section 6(2) of the Regulation stipulates that the Building Authority may, by serving a notice within 14 days or, where appropriate, within the extended period, beginning on the date a copy of the statement is served on him under section 4(2) of the Regulation; and the Appellant may, by serving a notice within 14 days or, where appropriate, within the extended period, beginning on the date a copy of the representations is served on him under section 5(b) of the Regulation, request the other party to furnish further particulars on any matter relevant to the appeal, and to make available to him for inspection any document which he considers relevant to the appeal and which is in the custody, control or possession of that party or to furnish a copy of any such document.

Section 6(3) of the Regulation also stipulates that a party of whom a request is made shall, within 14 days beginning on the date of the relevant notice is served or within the extended period, as may be appropriate, comply with such request unless the Appeal Tribunal is satisfied that the request was unreasonable or that reasonable grounds exist for not complying with it.

Section 6(4) of the Regulation further stipulates that a party who furnishes any particulars or a copy of a document shall, within the period referred to in section 6(3) or within the extended period, as may be appropriate, furnish a copy of the particulars or a copy of such document or, where appropriate, both, to the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal.

Extension of Time Limits

Section 13(1) of the Regulation stipulates that the Appeal Tribunal may upon application by a party extend, as regards the case to which the application relates, any time limit specified in section 4(1), 5(a) or 6(2) or (3) of the Regulation, if it considers it appropriate to do so. Section 13(2) of the Regulation further stipulates that the power of the Appeal Tribunal under section 13(1) may be exercised by its Chairman.

Hearing

Section 9 of the Regulation stipulates that hearing of an appeal shall be held in public unless the Appeal Tribunal directs otherwise after consulting the parties to the appeal.

Pursuant to section 49 of the Ordinance, the Appeal Tribunal may, in any case where it considers it appropriate to do so, hold a preliminary hearing to determine whether good cause has been shown for holding a full hearing. If the Appeal Tribunal determines that good cause has not been shown for holding a full hearing it shall dismiss the appeal but shall otherwise hold a full hearing.

Section 7 of the Regulation stipulates that not less than 21 days before the date fixed for a preliminary/full hearing the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal shall notify each party, in writing, of the date and time fixed for the preliminary/full hearing and the place at which it will take place.

Pursuant to section 52 of the Ordinance, as regards appearance before the Appeal Tribunal at a preliminary/full hearing of an appeal, a party to the appeal may be present and make representations, and may be represented either by counsel or a solicitor, or with the approval of the Chairman of the Appeal Tribunal, by any other person authorized for the purpose by the party concerned in writing. The Building Authority may be represented by a legal officer within the meaning of the Legal Officers Ordinance, Chapter 87 of the Laws of Hong Kong.

Determination of Appeal

Section 50 of the Ordinance provides that (a) every question shall be determined by the opinion of the majority of the members of the Appeal Tribunal; and (b) where there is an equality of votes the Chairman shall have a casting vote.

For the purpose of determining an appeal, the Appeal Tribunal is empowered to -

  1. (i)receive and consider any oral, documentary or other evidence, (including any written statement), whether on oath, affirmation or otherwise, and whether or not it would be admissible in evidence in proceedings in a court;
  2. (ii)by summons issued in the prescribed manner, require any person to attend before it at any hearing to give evidence or to produce any document;
  3. (iii)administer oaths or affirmations;
  4. (iv)examine on oath, affirmation or otherwise any person attending before it and require such person to answer any question put by or with the consent of the Appeal Tribunal.

In determining an appeal, the Appeal Tribunal may make an order confirming, varying or reversing the decision that is appealed against or substituting therefor such other decision or make such other order as the Appeal Tribunal thinks fit.

Costs

Pursuant to section 51 of the Ordinance, upon dismissal or determination of an appeal, the Appeal Tribunal may make such order as to costs as it thinks fit. The Appeal Tribunal may order the Appellant or the Respondent (i.e. the Building Authority) to bear the costs of the other party to the appeal. In general, such costs may include the fees of counsel, solicitor and other professionals who represented the other party to the appeal, expenses and other charges incurred by that other party, etc.

Service of Documents

Section 14 of the Regulation stipulates that the service of notice (other than notice of appeal), statement, order, summons, particulars in writing or other documents -

  1. (a)on the Appeal Tribunal (or the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal) and the Building Authority shall be effected by serving it or them personally or by sending by registered post addressed to the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal and the Building Authority at their respective offices; and
  2. (b)on an appellant or any other person - (i) who is an individual, shall be effected by serving it or them personally or by sending by registered post addressed to him at his last known place of residence; and (ii) who is not an individual, shall be effected by sending it or them by registered post to its registered address or last known place of business.

To ensure that notice, statement, order, summons, particulars in writing and other documents which are required to be served for the purposes of an appeal can be dispatched to an appellant timely and effectively, the Appellant should inform the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal and the Building Authority of any change to his address for service as soon as possible.

Withdrawal of Appeal

Download Notice of Withdrawal of Appeal

Section 10 of the Regulation provides that the Appellant may withdraw his appeal or abandon any part of it by giving notice in writing to the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal. After giving notice to withdraw his appeal, the Appellant shall serve a copy of the notice on the Building Authority as soon as practicable.

Contacts

Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal

Address : 17/F, West Wing, Central Government Offices, 2 Tim Mei Avenue, Tamar,
Hong Kong
Telephone number : 3509 7800
Fax number : 2189 7334

Note : The contacts provided are for matters that are related to appeal to the Appeal Tribunal. The Appeal Tribunal is NOT the Building Authority. It is generally NOT the function of the Appeal Tribunal to handle complaints, enquiries or negotiations regarding the Building Authority; nor to provide advisory, mediation, mitigation or investigation services to the Appellant. For enquiries with the Building Authority on other matters, one should communicate with the Building Authority (Buildings Department / Housing Department) directly.

Building Authority (Buildings Department and the Independent Checking Unit of Housing Department)

Buildings Department

Address : 12/F, Pioneer Centre, 750 Nathan Road, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong
Telephone number : 2626 1616
Fax number : 2537 4992

The Independent Checking Unit of Housing Department

Address : 8/F, Lung Cheung Office Block, 138 Lung Cheung Road, Wong Tai Sin, Kowloon, Hong Kong
Telephone number : 3162 0597
Fax number : 3162 0069

Issued by the Secretary to the Appeal Tribunal

直接到內文

注意:本概覽由上訴審裁小組秘書發出,只作一般參考用途,不應視為法律或上訴審裁小組常規的完整或具權威性的說明。本文並非旨在提供任何法律或其他專業意見。概覽的內容如有任何錯漏,上訴審裁小組秘書概不負責。如需要就上訴審裁小組相關的法律或常規方面尋求意見,請諮詢律師或其他合資格人士。

《建築物條例》及有關規例的電子版本已上載互聯網,網址為http://www.elegislation.gov.hk/。香港公共圖書館亦備存《建築物條例》及有關規例的文本,以供市民參閱,詳情請向香港公共圖書館查詢。

上訴審裁小組,《建築物條例》小冊子

概要

本概覽由上訴審裁小組秘書發出,以供有意了解上訴審裁小組運作的人士(包括擬根據香港法例第123章《建築物條例》(「《條例》」)第VI部提出上訴的人士)作一般參考。

建築物上訴審裁小組 (「上訴審裁小組」)是根據《條例》第48條成立的審裁小組,以就上訴進行聆訊和作出裁定。上訴審裁小組須由一名主席及不少於2名成員組成。上訴審裁小組是一個獨立組織,並不受制於建築事務監督,一般亦不會對建築事務監督根據《條例》執行其職責及其他職能作出監管。

向上訴審裁小組提出的上訴,

一般上訴程序的參考資料

一般上訴程序的簡單流程圖
(以建築事務監督根據《條例》發出命令/通知的決定為例)

建築事務監督發出命令/通知

因該命令/通知而感到受屈的人士決定向上訴審裁小組提出上訴,並須在該命令/通知發出之日起計21天內,將上訴通知送達上訴審裁小組秘書及建築事務監督

上訴人須在發出上訴通知之日起計28天內,向上訴審裁小組秘書及建築事務監督提交詳情陳述書

建築事務監督須在接獲上訴人的詳情陳述書當日起計28天內,向上訴審裁小組秘書及上訴人提交其申述書及文件

上訴審裁小組就上訴進行初步/全面聆訊及對上訴及訟費(如有的話)作出裁定

上訴通知

下載上訴通知表格

《條例》第44條規定,除《條例》另有規定外,任何人因建築事務監督行使根據《條例》賦予他的酌情決定權所作的任何決定而感到受屈,可按照《條例》第VI部及根據《條例》第38(1B)條訂立的規例,就該項決定提出上訴。

《條例》第47條規定,任何人行使《條例》第44條所賦予的上訴權利,須以訂明方式向上訴審裁小組秘書發出上訴通知,就有關決定提出上訴,上訴審裁小組秘書須於關於該項決定的通知送交該人之日後不遲於21天收到上訴通知。

《規例》第3條規定,為施行《條例》第47條而發出的上訴通知,須以書面發出並送達上訴審裁小組秘書。該第3條進一步規定,上訴人須在《條例》第47條所指明的上訴通知發出期限內,將上訴通知文本一份送達建築事務監督。

上訴通知可以下述訂明方式送達上訴審裁小組秘書:

  1. (i)以掛號郵件或一般郵件寄往其辦事處;或
  2. (ii)藉傳真發送;或
  3. (iii)面交送達。

一般而言,上訴通知應包含以下資料:

  1. 上訴所針對的建築事務監督的決定/命令/通知,例如命令/通知編號、決定/命令/通知的日期、屋宇署的檔號等;
  2. 建築事務監督的決定/命令/通知所關乎的物業/土地的資料;
  3. 上訴人的個人資料,例如姓名、身份證號碼、通訊地址、電話號碼(包括住宅/公司/手提電話號碼)、傳真號碼(如適用)等;及
  4. 上訴人的簽署、公司印章(如適用)等。

上訴通知的頂部亦宜註明「上訴通知」的字樣,以方便上訴各方辨識。一般而言,上訴通知(及所有上訴文件)須由上訴人或上訴人的獲授權代表親自簽署。

詳情陳述書

《規例》第4(1)條規定,上訴人須在上訴通知發出日期起計28天內或(如適當)在經延展的期限內,向上訴審裁小組秘書提交陳述書,載明:

  1. 上訴所關乎的決定的詳情;
  2. 上訴理由(如並未在上訴通知內指明);
  3. 上訴所關乎的事宜的詳細描述;
  4. 上訴人擬在聆訊中交出的每份文件的描述;
  5. (如有關的話)上訴所關乎的任何物業或土地的地址及描述,以及上訴人在該物業或土地所佔的權益的陳述;及
  6. 上訴人擬在聆訊中傳喚為其作證的證人的詳情。

《規例》第4(2)條進一步規定,上訴人須在上述期限或經延展的期限(視何者適當而定)內,將陳述書文本一份送達建築事務監督。在向上訴審裁小組秘書提交上述上訴通知時,上訴人亦可一併提交陳述書。陳述書的頂部亦宜註明「詳情陳述書」的字樣,以方便上訴各方辨識。

申述及文件

《規例》第5(a)條規定,建築事務監督須在接獲上訴人的詳情陳述書文本當日起計28天內或(如適當)在經延展的期限內,向上訴審裁小組秘書提交申述書,並提交建築事務監督認為有助上訴審裁小組就該上訴作出裁定或以其他方式處理該上訴並由建築事務監督管有或保管的文件(如有的話)。《規例》第5(b)條進一步規定,在上述期限或經延展的期限(視何者適當而定)內,建築事務監督須向上訴人送達申述書文本一份及上述所提交的每份文件的副本一份。

提交進一步詳情的要求

《規例》第6(2)條規定,建築事務監督可在根據《規例》第4(2)條送達他的上訴人的陳述書文本及上訴人可在根據《規例》第5(b)條送達他的建築事務監督的申述書文本當日起計的14天內或(如適當)在經延展的期限內,可藉送達通知而要求另一方提交任何與該上訴有關的事宜的進一步詳情,及向他交出他認為與該上訴有關並由該方保管、控制或管有的任何文件,供他查閱,或提交任何該等文件的副本。

《規例》第6(3)條亦規定,除非上訴審裁小組信納所提出的要求是不合理的或有合理理由不遵從該要求,否則被要求的一方,須在有關通知送達當日起計的14天內或在經延展的期限內(視何者適當而定)遵從該要求。

《規例》第6(4)條進一步規定,提交任何詳情或文件副本的一方,須在《規例》第6(3)條所提述的期限內或在經延展的期限內(視何者適當而定),向上訴審裁小組秘書提交該等詳情的副本或該文件的副本或(如適當)兩者的副本。

延展時限

《規例》第13(1)條規定,上訴審裁小組如認為適當,可應任何一方的申請,就該申請所關乎的個案,延展《規例》第4(1)、5(a)或6(2)或(3)條所指明的任何時限。《規例》第13(2)條進一步規定,上訴審裁小組根據《規例》第13(1)條而具有的權力可由主席行使。

聆訊

《規例》第9條規定,除上訴審裁小組在諮詢上訴各方後另有指示外,上訴聆訊須公開進行。

根據《條例》第49條,上訴審裁小組可在其認為適當的情況下進行初步聆訊,以裁定是否有應進行全面聆訊的好的因由提出。上訴審裁小組如裁定並無應進行全面聆訊的好的因由提出,須駁回上訴,否則須進行全面聆訊。

《規例》第7條規定,上訴審裁小組秘書須在初步/全面聆訊編定日期前不少於21天,以書面通知每一方初步/全面聆訊的編定日期和時間及進行聆訊的地點。

根據《條例》第52條,就出席上訴審裁小組席前的初步/全面聆訊,上訴一方可出席並作出申述,及可由大律師或律師代表,或在上訴審裁小組主席批准下由任何獲有關一方為此書面授權的其他人代表。建築事務監督可由香港法例第87章《律政人員條例》所指的律政人員代表。

上訴的裁定

《條例》第50條規定,(a)每項問題按上訴審裁小組過半數成員的意見作出裁定;及(b)如票數均等,主席可投決定票。

為了就上訴作出裁定,上訴審裁小組獲賦權:

  1. (i)收取和考慮任何口頭證據、文件證據或其他證據(包括任何書面陳述),不論該等證據是經宗教式宣誓、非宗教式宣誓或沒有宣誓而提供的,亦不論該等證據會否在法院進行的法律程序中獲接納為證據;
  2. (ii)藉按訂明方式發出的傳票,規定任何人到審裁小組席前出席任何聆訊,以提供證據或出示任何文件;
  3. (iii)監誓;
  4. (iv)在任何到其席前的人經宗教式宣誓、非宗教式宣誓後或沒有宣誓的情況下向該人訊問,並規定該人回答上訴審裁小組所提出或在審裁處同意下提出的任何問題。

上訴審裁小組就上訴作出裁定時,可作出命令,確認、更改或推翻上訴所針對的決定,或以其認為適合的其他決定取代該決定,或作出其認為適合的其他命令。

訟費

根據《條例》第51條,上訴審裁小組在駁回上訴或作出上訴的裁定時,可就訟費作出其認為適合的命令。上訴審裁小組可命令上訴人或應訴人(即建築事務監督)承擔上訴另一方的訟費。一般而言,此等訟費可包括大律師、律師及其他代表上訴另一方的專業人士的費用,以及該另一方所招致的支出及其他收費等。

送達文件

《規例》第14條就通知(上訴通知除外)、陳述書、命令、傳票、詳情書或其他文件的送達作出規定如下:

  1. (a)如送達上訴審裁小組(或上訴審裁小組秘書)及建築事務監督,須面交送達,或以掛號郵遞方式寄往上訴審裁小組秘書及建築事務監督的辦事處;及
  2. (b)如送達上訴人或任何其他人─(i)而該人是個人,則須面交送達,或以掛號郵遞方式寄往該人最後為人所知的居住地點致予該人;或(ii)而該人並非個人,則須以掛號郵遞方式寄往該人的註冊地址或最後為人所知的營業地點。

為確保為上訴而須送達的通知、陳述書、命令、傳票、詳情書或其他文件能適時及有效地發送給上訴人,上訴人如地址有變,應盡早通知上訴審裁小組秘書及建築事務監督。

上訴的撤回

下載撤回上訴通知表格

《規例》第10條規定,上訴人可藉向上訴審裁小組秘書發出書面通知而撤回其上訴或放棄其上訴的任何部分。上訴人須在發出撤回上訴的通知後,在切實可行範圍內盡快將通知文本一份送達建築事務監督。

聯絡方法

上訴審裁小組秘書

地址: 香港添馬添美道2號政府總部西翼17樓
電話號碼: 3509 7800
傳真號碼: 2189 7334

備註:所提供的聯絡方法,為供上訴事宜的處理。上訴審裁小組並非建築事務監督。一般而言,上訴審裁小組的職能並非處理有關建築事務監督的投訴、查詢或進行商討,或向上訴人提供諮詢、調解、求情或調查服務。如欲查詢有關建築事務監督的其他事宜,應直接向建築事務監督(屋宇署/房屋署)提出。

建築事務監督(屋宇署及房屋署轄下的獨立審查組)

屋宇署

地址: 香港九龍旺角彌敦道750號始創中心12樓
電話號碼: 2626 1616
傳真號碼: 2537 4992

房屋署轄下的獨立審查組

地址: 香港九龍黃大仙龍翔道138號龍翔辦公大樓8樓
電話號碼: 3162 0597
傳真號碼: 3162 0069

由建築物上訴審裁小組秘書發出